Tonight’s post is about a few things, which are related, but it might take me a while to connect them, so bear with me!

So, firstly, I want to celebrate my new blog that I’m co-writing with (one of my) Australian friend, Skyring. It can be found here. Basically what we’re doing is writing letters to each other. I’m not sure if it’s going to have a theme or anything – it’s NOT going to be a description of what we do all day, cos we have other blogs for that, and twitter, and facebook, and so on and so on….I guess what I’m hoping to get out of it is just more writing practice (no idea what I’m practicing for, but I do enjoy it!), and I’m kinda hoping that what I write will be from the heart, what’s going through my mind (although who’ll want to read that I don’t know!), what I’m wondering about etc. I think Skyring just wants to relive all our wonderful memories together again, which I enjoy too! Anyway we’ll see how it goes 🙂

I also want to celebrate Sister Hazel – who are quite frankly my favourite band ever. Well for now anyway! I was first introduced to them by a BookCrosser called WingedMan, who is wonderful in many many ways (and I know I’m not the only one who thinks so!), not just because he got me into SH! But anyway, he’s a whole entry to himself, so I’ll leave him be for now 🙂

So, back to Sister Hazel – I’m not sure what I love about them so much, I guess part of it is that I can find a song of theirs to listen to no matter what mood I’m in – and I’m the last one to say that I don’t get moody at times, heck, thats one of the reasons I started this blog! Even when I’m feeling miserable, I can listen to their music and feel like it’s ok that I’m miserable, because at least I’m not alone in my misery. Or something like that.

So anyway, when Skyring and I were thinking about this blog, we’d decided that because we are both such huge Sister Hazel fans, we wanted to use one of their songs/lyrics as our blog name. I thought about it for about a minute and came up with “Hello It’s Me” (which is one of my current favourites of theirs) which I thought would work for letters….

But, I figure there’s got to be some sort of copyright on song lyrics, and even though we’re not actually making any money off it, it’s polite to ask permission of the band if we want to use it right? So I sent the lead singer (and the author of the song according to the all knowing Wikipedia :p) an email on facebook thinking that even if he never got back to me, at least I tried.

The greatest (or beautiful) thing? I only waited for a day and a half (or so) for a reply! And he said yes! Well he actually said it was absolutely fine as long as we don’t suck.

So here’s to Sister Hazel, Hello It’s Me, and to Not Sucking.

