I work with this guy Shane who also did Camp America back in the day, and he regularly manages to make me laugh quoting campfire songs! Surprisingly enough we actually know quite a few of the same ones, albeit with occasionally differing words…He’s been singing ‘The Princess Pat‘ all day today, and he only desisted when I threatened to sing ‘The Skunk Song

As a kid we never really had ‘campfire’ songs, but I remember there was one Alex and I used to sing while we were out tramping called Black Socks. You may have heard it before :p It goes:

Black socks, they never get dirty
The longer you wear them the stronger they get!
Sometimes I think I should launder them
But something keeps telling me
Don’t wash them yet, not yet, not yet, not yet…

We used to do it as a round with Mum and go on for a while until Mum (probably on purpose) would trip up and we’d have to start again. And we’d go on for a bit longer. Great way to keep the pace up while tramping.

