This is a pic of Ocean City Beach, Maryland. I actually visited this beach twice, but the second time I didn’t take any photographs (it was a bit dark), so I’m choosing this picture.

The first time I visited this beach was with a family a friend and I were staying with before we went to work at camp. We did all the touristy things, ate thrashers fries with vinegar, paddled in the ocean (first time in living memory of being in the Atlantic Ocean!), and went on the ferris wheel. It was a bit misty/foggy to see anything from the ferris wheel but it was still fun 🙂 The pic was taken just after paddling. It was pretty cold, so didn’t get in very far, just enough to get splashed a little and to say I’d been in!

The second time was with another friend, one I had met for the first time a few days earlier. We both felt the need for solitude, stars, and ocean sounds (and if I’m being honest, the smell of the ocean, which always gets to me), so after a full day of sightseeing (from memory I think we went to my first iMax movie about sea creatures at the Smithsonian Musuem of Natural History, wandered around DC, and then visited the Holocaust Museum, finishing with dinner at this amazing vegetarian kebab place) we decided to do this miniroad trip. Leaving about midnight of course :p

So we drove to the beach, and lay on the sand, looking at the stars, listening to the ocean sounds until I drifted off wrapped in a slightly sandy sleeping bag. I woke up just as the sun was rising, and it was beautiful. One of my favourite nights of my whole trip.

