I’m going to cheat on this one. I don’t have a favourite superhero, but I do I believe we all have the power to be superheroes. In fact, one of my favourite quotes is this one from Jodi Picoult’s book, Second Glance:

Heroes didn’t leap tall buildings or stop bullets with an outstretched hand; they didn’t wear boots and capes. They bled, and they bruised, and their superpowers were as simple as listening, or loving. Heroes were ordinary people who knew that even if their own lives were impossibly knotted, they could untangle someone else’s. And maybe that one act could lead someone to rescue you right back.

Which brings me to a friend of mine, WingedMan – see, even the name is appropriate! A few years ago, I was going through a real tough patch, my Sister had attempted suicide, I had just finished university, and was applying for teaching job after teaching job, getting more and more depressed as I got nothing. Every new rejection letter made me feel even more worthless. I knew I needed help, but I had no idea how to ask for it – I didn’t want to to talk with my parents, cos I knew they were still dealing with Alex, and I didn’t want to add to their worries. Yes, I knew and know that was silly, but it’s how I was feeling at the time. Didn’t want to tell my friends, I’m generally known for being a smiley sort of person, and I thought if I wasn’t happy then they wouldn’t want to know me. After all, I didn’t like myself, why should they.

Anyway, one day, I was sitting on the waterfront outside my work, and I thought…I could just lean forward and breathe in, and I might actually get some help.

The thought scared the living hell out of me, and I immediately jumped up and got away from the water. But I knew I had to talk to someone.

I don’t actually remember what made me choose WingedMan, but I’m glad I did. He was wonderful. He listened, and even seemed to care about what I was saying. He made me feel like I was ok, even though I felt like a failure as a human being.

That’s why he’s one of my heroes, because he made me feel that way, made me feel like it was ok for me to feel that way, and made me feel like I wasn’t a failure.

