Day 07- A picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you

This is Sherlockfan. She is the reason for a LOT of my friends! A few years ago, when I was still living at home, Sherlockfan released some books in the bus shelter down the road from my house. So, as I was walking home, I saw these books there and went over to have a look. It seemed odd to me that there would be so many books left behind in one place. So, I picked one up, and read all about BookCrossing. I think I might have run home I was so excited to learn more about this BookCrossing thing.

Fast forward a few months. We’d exchanged books a few times, down at the bus stop so it was still fairly anonymous :p We decided that it would be neat to meet some other BookCrossers – we weren’t really sure if there were any more in Wellington, but the website did say that meetups were held at The Lido in town on the second Tuesday of every month. So, we decided to go, see if anyone else showed up.

As far as we know, no one did, although we did talk to a rather dodgy man about BC, made me glad there were 2 of us! I don’t really remember how the meetups got started properly, but eventually there were a core group of about 4 of us attending. I suspect SF had something to do with it 😀

Now skip forward a year or so. Sherlockfan attended the very first Christchurch BookCrossing convention, and so we decided it was our turn to host. After a heck of a lot of work (mostly done by SF I believe), we hosted our very own BC Convention. And now, after 4 conventions (plus one coming up in the near future!), I’m completely hooked.

The best thing about these conventions, are that you get to put these faces to names you’ve known on the internet, and see that they are just as wonderful in real life as they are there 😀

Day 08- Short term goals for this month and why

Ummmm trying to think of short term goals for this month…..

1. Reduce Mt.TBR either by reading or releasing some. Fairly self explanatory – I have too many books and they’re starting to take over my bedroom.

2. I really can’t think of anything else…if I do I’ll post it at the end of later entries…guess I’m not very goal oriented at the moment.

