It’s been a pretty eventful week!

Saturday I visited the Botanic Gardens which were cold, but still beautiful. Got to see some different kinds of plants, and saw squirrels for the first time since I’ve been here! I went with someone I met at the BC meetup (also the knitter mentioned later). I’m looking forward to going later in the year when things start flowering 😀

Sunday I went to a knitting group that had been recommended to me by a BCer at the meetup. I had an awesome time, got lots of knitting done and met some new people which is always good! In scarf news I’ve finished! But need to find a big enough needle to sew my ends in.

On Monday I had a job interview, which I think went ok. I’ll find out if I’ve got it some time next week hopefully. Unfortunately it’s been downgraded to weekend work only, so I’m still looking (well I would have been looking anyway) for work for during the week. I’m really hopeful that something will pan out soon!

Tuesday evening I went to a movie night at someone’s house (who I met at knitting on Sunday). It was good, we watched Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, which I haven’t seen in YEARS! And then we watched Black Sheep, which was all right, if a little too gory. Hilarious New Zealand accents though!

Wednesday I almost didn’t do anything but Sally *forced* me to go to Ukulele, and I’m SO glad she did! Met some more cool people, practiced the uke, and it’s encouraged me to practice some more! I’ll definitely be going back. Especially since one of the people there gave me googly eyes to stick around Edinburgh! Love me a good googly eye!

Thursday evening I was supposed to go out, but no one got back to me on where and when I was supposed to be going so I didn’t :p

Friday was really uneventful. Well mostly. Sally went out for her work Christmas do (they’re apparently not terribly organised!) and came home about midnight saying that the snow was deep enough for snow angels, so we all got dressed up and went out to make snow angels. There was also a small amount of snowball throwing 😀

The snow’s still here which I’m loving – it’s slowly melting where people are walking, but there’s parts of the Meadows which are still covered in snow and/or have snow people on them, and it’s really magical up by the castle. We’re supposed to get more this week too.

Last night some of Sally and Jochen’s friends came over for dinner and we stayed up WAY too late talking about travel. It’s gotten me really excited about all the travel I’m planning 😀 And some that I wasn’t planning but seems like it could be fun.

Job hunt is going slowly but surely. I’ve looked every day, and applied for something/s most days. People haven’t been great at getting back to me, apart from one person who I’ve been emailing backwards and forwards trying to get my cv to her. I don’t think I’ll get it because they want a registered early childhood teacher, but you never know!

I’ve also emailed someone on the gumtree language/skill exchange about learning Italian in return for English…

